The Cleveland Orchestra in Miami Brahms and Bruch

Presented by The Cleveland Orchestra in partnership with the Adrienne Arsht Center

Subscribe Now


January 26 – 27, 2024


Knight Concert Hall

Run Time


Parental Guide

Ages 8+

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, violin

KNUSSEN Cleveland Pictures
BRUCH Violin Concerto No. 1
BRAHMS Symphony No. 1

“I shall never write a symphony,” Brahms said when young. He was fearful of the inevitable comparisons to Beethoven, and it took the otherwise prolific composer 14 years to produce his first symphony. When it was unveiled, audiences joyfully dubbed it “Beethoven’s Tenth,” in part because the great melody of the finale resembles the "Ode to Joy" ("any ass can see that," Brahms said). But Brahms has emerged from under Beethoven’s shadow, and his first symphony, with its rich melodies and colorful orchestrations, is recognized as a magnificent work. Renowned violinist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider joins the Orchestra for Bruch’s popular violin concerto.


Subscribers can get tickets now! Click here for more information.

Promo for Screen Reader

Online ticket sales are no longer available for this performance. Tickets may still be available in person at the box office or by calling 305.949.6722.


Official Sponsors

Generous support for The Cleveland Orchestra in Miami is provided by: 

Dr. M. Lee Pearce Foundation, Inc.
The Batchelor Foundation
The Kirk Foundation
Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council
Miami-Dade County Mayor
Board of County Commissioners

Institutional Sponsors