The Cleveland Orchestra in Miami: Tchaikovsky's Pathétique

Presented by The Cleveland Orchestra in partnership with the Adrienne Arsht Center


January 20 – 21, 2023


Knight Concert Hall

Run Time

1 hour 31 minutes

Parental Guide

Ages 8+

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

SCHUBERT Symphony No. 8 (“Unfinished”)
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 6 (“Pathétique”)

Tchaikovsky's Pathétique is the composer's passionate, quintessentially romantic final symphony. He wrote, “Without exaggeration, I have put my whole soul into this symphony ... I love it as I have never loved any of my other musical offspring.” 

Opening the program is Schubert’s enigmatic masterpiece; its two sublime movements, though perfection themselves, still mystify as to why the composer left it incomplete.

It's the perfect pairing to experience the renowned, world-class sounds of the unparallel Cleveland Orchestra.

At 7 p.m. prior to this performance, join us in the Knight Concert Hall for a prelude concert.

Zhan Shu, violin
David Alan Harrell, cello
Carolyn Warner, violin

SCHUBERT Violin Sonatina No. 1 in D major, Opus 137, D. 384
PIAZZOLLA Grand Tango (arr. Warner)


Save 15% off when you subscribe to both programs.  Great seats for 2-concert packages start at $50.  
Click here for more information.


Great seats start at $29.

Promo for Screen Reader

Online ticket sales are no longer available for this performance. Tickets may still be available in person at the box office or by calling 305.949.6722.


Official Sponsors

Generous support for The Cleveland Orchestra in Miami is provided by: 

Dr. M. Lee Pearce Foundation, Inc.
The Batchelor Foundation
The Kirk Foundation
Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council
Miami-Dade County Mayor
Board of County Commissioners